Duplicate records can clutter your Salesforce database, leading to inefficiencies and inconsistencies in your data. Using Duplicate Jobs, you can identify and merge duplicate business or person accounts, contacts, and leads by applying standard or custom matching rules. This ensures your data remains clean, accurate, and up to date. In this blog we will discuss about duplicate jobs in Salesforce.
How to Run Duplicate Jobs in Salesforce
Duplicate records cause inconsistencies and irregularities in your Salesforce database leaving errors and mismatches. Using Duplicate Jobs, you can identify and merge duplicate business or person accounts, contacts, and leads by applying standard or custom matching rules. This results in clean and accurate data. In this article, we will discuss about duplicate jobs in Salesforce.
How to Run Duplicate Jobs in Salesforce .
To identify duplicates across your Salesforce org, follow the steps described below.
- Access Duplicate Jobs
- Navigate to Setup, search for Duplicate Jobs in the Quick Find box.
- Create a New Job
- Click New Job.
- Select the object (e.g., business or person accounts, contacts, or leads).
- Select a existing matching rule from the already available list of matching rules or create a new one.
- Rename the default job name (optional).
- Click Run to start the job.
- Rerun a Job
- Click New Job and select the same object and same matching rule used earlier.
- View and Merge Duplicates
- Open the Job Summary Page, then open a record set.
- Click the Related tab and select Compare and Merge.
- Grant Merge Permissions to users
- To permit users to merge duplicates, provide them access to Duplicate Record Sets in Lightning Experience.
- Share Job Results with users
- Create a report on the duplicate record set to share the results of a duplicate job.
Considerations When Running Duplicate Jobs
1. Compare and Merge Not Supported for Custom Objects
- You can run duplicate jobs on custom objects, but you cannot compare and merge duplicate records.
2. Job Limits
Duplicate jobs have some limitations:
- Running a job as a completed job overwrites the earlier job which ran on the same object and matching rule. Before running, a confirmation alert appears.
- If you edit a matching rule after a job is run, and you attempt the run again, it will automatically delete the earlier job.
- The total number of duplicate record items across all completed jobs is limited to 1,000,000. If you want to run a new job, you have to delete the older job results.
- Duplicate jobs may fail for organisations dealing with large data sets.
- If job results are deleted, information such as scanned records, duplicate sets, and individual duplicates found stays undeleted.
3. Duplicate Record Sets and List Views
- Each job generates a list view of duplicate record sets.
- Duplicate record sets or the items are not deleted if the list views are deleted. Deleting list view wont remove the job information either.
- Deleting job results in Setup removes the corresponding list view, duplicate record sets, and duplicate record items.
4. Required Custom Fields on Duplicate Record Set
- If a duplicate job generate duplicate record sets or items which holds custom fields which are marked required, then the job will fail.
5. Encrypted Fields
- The duplicate job will fail if the matching rule includes an encrypted field.
To learn more, click Data Quality




